A Resounding Win for the People

By Patricia L Johnson

The Score is in –

-0-  President George W. Bush

-1-  People of the United States of America

After seven years in office Congress finally said "NO" to President Bush and they said it loud and clear; with the House overriding the veto of H.R. 1495, Water Resources Development Act of 2007, with a vote of  361-54 and the Senate following with a 79-14 vote.

Following are the names of the 34 Senate Republicans that stood up for what was right and and voted against the Presidents veto.

Lamar Alexander, John Barrasso, Robert Bennett, Kit Bond, Saxby Chambliss, Thad Cochran, Norm Coleman, Susan Collins, Bob Corker, Larry Craig, Michael Crapo, Elizabeth Dole, Pete Domenici, Lindsey Graham, Charles Grassley, Chuck Hagel, Orrin Hatch, Kay Bailey Hutchison, James Inhofe, Johnny Isakson, Trent Lott, Richard Lugar, Mel Martinez, Lisa Murkowski, Pat Roberts, Richard Shelby, Gordon Smith, Olympia Snowe, Arlen Specter, Ted Stevens, John Thune, David Vitter, George Voinovich, John Warner

Sometimes it’s difficult to do what’s right when you’re under a tremendous amount of political pressure, but these Senators stood up to the pressure and voted to override President Bush’s veto.

Job Well Done – THANK YOU!

The following 12 Senate Republicans stood fast with President Bush and voted "NO" to the veto override.

Wayne Allard, Sam Brownback, Richard Burr, Tom Coburn, Jim DeMint, John Ensign, Michael Enzi, Judd Gregg, Jon Kyl, Mitch McConnell, Jeff Sessions, John Sununu

We can only cross our fingers and hope that the next time around they see the light and realize there is safety in numbers.

This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s