A Slap in the Face?

By Patricia L Johnson

So little time – so much to learn.

This afternoon I came online with hopes of being able to put together a very short piece that might be of interest, but immediately became sidetracked by reading the list of scheduled speakers for the Democratic National Convention.

A lot of the big names are there, but so are names that didn’t ring such a loud bell, for me, like Maya Soetoro-Ng and Craig Robinson [Barack Obama’s sister and Michelle’s brother].

When I saw the name Michelle Obama as Headline prime-time speaker for the opening of the convention, and saw Senator Clinton’s name for the next night, it bothered me.  I think it’s very nice that the DNC/Obama afforded Senator Clinton the opportunity to speak, but it seems like the order of the names should be changed.  Michelle may be the most important person in Obama’s life, but the convention floor just doesn’t seem to me to be the place to showcase Obama’s family, unless he’s giving us a preview of what’s to come if he’s elected POTUS.

Monday, August 25 – One Nation

  • Headline prime-time speaker: Michelle Obama
  • Featured speakers: Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, Senator Claire McCaskill, Maya Soetoro-Ng and Craig Robinson
  • Tribute to Senator Edward Kennedy
  • Mayor John Hickenlooper and a video segment introducing delegates and other Convention attendees to the natural beauty and strong voices of leadership in the Mountain West

Tuesday, August 26 – Renewing America’s Promise

  • Headline prime-time speaker: Senator Hillary Clinton
  • Keynote Address: Mark Warner, former Governor of Virginia
  • Featured speakers: Governors Napolitano, Patrick, Rendell, Schweitzer, Sebelius and Strickland; Senator Bob Casey, Jr. and Federico Peña

Wednesday, August 27 – Securing America’s Future

  • Headline prime-time speaker: Barack Obama’s Vice Presidential Nominee.
  • Featured speakers: Former President Bill Clinton; Governor Bill Richardson; Senators Evan Bayh, Joe Biden, Jay Rockefeller and Ken Salazar; Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid,;House Majority Whip James E. Clyburn; Representative Patrick Murphy (D-PA) and Iraq War veteran Tammy Duckworth.

Source:  DNC

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s