Too Embarrassing for Words

By Patricia L Johnson

Standing for long periods of time isn’t something that I’m able to do on a regular basis which makes things like cooking difficult. You can do a lot of things sitting down, but sooner or later you’re going to have to wander over to the stove and stand up for varying lengths of time depending upon what you’re cooking.

My husband decided he would help out by buying me something called a Ninja 3-in-1 Slow Cooking System. It looks like a huge slow cooker, but actually does considerably more as you can roast, sear, bake, slow cook with it and use it like a regular burner on a stove.

Normally, I don’t like to mess around with the new-fangled toys my husband buys for the kitchen and generally wrap them up and toss into storage, but after I read the cook book I decided I’d at least give it a go as it had a few recipes I wanted to try. It has something called triple fusion heat which cuts down on cooking time so that was certainly an added benefit.

Once I began using the Ninja I really liked it and have used it several times during the past couple weeks. A few days ago I made soup with a tomato base and when my son stopped by I filled up a container for him to take home to his family. I apparently didn’t realize it at the time, but when I was dipping out the soup I must have spilled some onto the Ninja dial and the way the soup spilled it basically made a fairly straight red line on the dial.

An hour or so later when I decided to put the rest of the soup in containers and clean up the unit (cleaning is a breeze by the way), I kept turning the dial to turn the machine off and the dial would only turn so far. I kept at it for a while and couldn’t get it to work so I finally went in and asked my husband where he bought the machine so I could request a replacement due to the fact it was broken.

Mike thinks the sole purpose of receipts/ packing slips is to line the trash so he didn’t have the receipt and couldn’t remember where he purchased, other than he bought online.

As it turned out there were a limited number of places that sold this unit online so I contacted the one he uses most often and explained my tale of woe. I figured the fact I had no receipt, no date of purchase or any other identifying information the chances of a positive outcome were between zero and none. Imagine my surprise when they contacted me in less than an hour providing instructions on how to return the unit for replacement and/or a refund.

The next day I go in to package up my Ninja (in the light of day) and was totally shocked to see the red soup line spill on the dial. I immediately cleaned it up, plugged in the Ninja, turned the dial and voila’ I was back in business.

My next step was to figure out how to tell the online merchant the item they sold wasn’t as defective as the owner. My first thought was to tell them I was planning a trip to China and would have the unit replaced there, but decided my entire family would turn over in their graves with a lie that huge. My next thought was to send the unit back and have them ship a new one because that would certainly save me the embarrassment of having to explain how this ‘defective’ machine managed to miraculously fix itself overnight.

In the end the truth always prevails so that’s what I ended up doing, no matter how embarrassing it was to tell these people how a relatively intelligent person couldn’t figure out the difference between spilled soup and a mark on the dial. Their response definitely made me feel 100% better (still dumb, but a 100% better). Following is part of the response from Adam, in their Customer Service Department “Thank you so much for taking the time to send us such a friendly note.”

We’ve all had our bad experiences with customer service people in different operations and often complain about the poor service provided. My most recent experience is certainly an example of how a company should run their Customer Service Department if they want to keep their existing customers happy and gain new ones along the way.

© 2014 Patricia L Johnson

This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Too Embarrassing for Words

  1. Administrator says:

    Actually, this gadget sort of works on that same principle because you put water in the bottom of it and it steams stuff, which explains how it cooks so quickly. 🙂

    I don’t think I’ve ever burned water, but I think I’ve burned a few pans that were only cooking water 🙂

  2. I like a double-boiler for my cooking. Hard to burn water, and the top heats up really fast!

Leave a Reply

