WANTED – Everything!

By Patricia L Johnson

While in the middle of researching for a new article, I saw a headline that caught my attention simply due to the geographic location of the site and decided to read the accompanying story. When I reached the bottom of the story I saw there were not any comments so thought I would make a quick comment, which is something I don’t normally do.

Lo and behold, in order to post the comment, I had to first log in with either my Facebook account or my Linked In account, and since I’m not listed on Linked In, I chose Facebook and received the following message from the organization hired by this particular news site.

login.viafoura.com will receive the following info: your public profile, friend list, email address, birthday, interests and likes.

What sort of country have we become that in order to enter a comment about a news story we have to give up not only our complete privacy, but the privacy of friends, neighbors and/or relatives? This particular privacy issue has absolutely nothing to do with the U.S. Government, but my guess is it has a whole lot to do with politics and marketing.

There is nothing more valuable in 2014 than voters and what better source is there to obtain names, ages, gender, e-mail addresses, etc., from a group of people than through social media?

Once a particular organization has the names, ages, gender and e-mail addresses these individuals can then become bombarded with whatever political message the organization is attempting to get across. Rather than give up data on others, without their permission, I decided I would not bother posting my comment on their news site.

Moral of the story, don’t be duped into providing your personal information, or the personal information of others to anyone, just because you don’t want to read the fine print when various websites ask you to sign in with your Facebook or Linked In account.

© 2014 Patricia L Johnson

This entry was posted in Elections 2014, News and politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WANTED – Everything!

  1. Patricia L Johnson says:

    Hi Richard,

    When I wrote to the news site to give them my opinion of their article this morning, the editor replied to my e-mail so I went ahead and mentioned why I didn’t post directly to their news site. I don’t know if that would turn off other people, but it certainly didn’t make me feel comfortable posting 🙂

    There is too much information available on the internet about individuals, and then we wonder how our identities are stolen.

    Have a good day,

    Patricia

  2. I could not agree more! If I want to make a comment on something, I don’t want to give my life history first!!

Leave a Reply

